This site uses cookies.     
You are not logged in. Please login.

The Philco Television Playhouse (TV series 1948-1956)

Arena Theatre (USA: first season title)
The Philco Television Playhouse (USA)
The Philco-Goodyear Television Playhouse (USA: fourth season title)
Repertory Theatre (USA: first season title)

My Rating: /10
Rating:  awaiting 3 votes    IMDb

1948 October, 3
60 minutes
Production Company:

This live dramatic series featured original stories and adaptations of novels, plays, etc. during it's eight year run. During the first year, the show was sponsored by the Actor's Equity Association and featured adaptations of Broadway plays and musicals: Bert Lytell, the former president of the Association, acted as host. During the second season, an agreement was made with the Book-of-the-Month Club and the plays were adaptations of current novels. Starting in the third season, the TV plays were adaptations of plays, novels, dramas, etc. by known and unknown authors. The title of the show was changed to "Repertory Theatre" (1949) for episodes 1.29 to 1.31 and "Arena Theatre" (1949) for episodes 1.32 to 1.38. Effective with episode 1.39, the original title was used. Starting with the fourth season, this show alternated weekly with "The Goodyear Theatre" (1951); starting in the eighth season, this program alternated with "The Goodyear Theatre" (1951) and "The ALCOA Hour" (1955). - IMDb

Arena Theatre (first season title) USA
The Philco Television Playhouse West Germany
The Philco Television Playhouse Japan
The Philco Television Playhouse USA
The Philco-Goodyear Television Playhouse (fourth season title) USA
Repertory Theatre (first season title) USA
Teatro Philco Venezuela

Children's Cast:

Patty McCormack [9] Dovie (TV Episode: Somebody Special) (1954)
Brandon De Wilde [9] (TV Episode: No Medals on Pop) (1951)
Bobby Clark [5] (TV Episode: Macbeth) (1949)
Sal Mineo [16] (TV Episode: The Trees) (1955)
Kevin Coughlin [9] Gary (TV Episode: The Man in the Middle of the Ocean) (1954)
Clifford Tatum Jr. (TV Episode: John Turner Davis) (1953)
Charles Taylor [11] (TV Episode: Let Them Be Sea Captains) (1951)